Skip to main content

Council of Lloyd's - Notice of election

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the Constitutional Arrangements Byelaw (No. 2 of 2010) (“the Byelaw”), the terms of office of the following members of the Council expire on 31 January 2016:

Tue 27 Oct 2015

Working Members:
Mr Rupert Atkin
Mr Christopher Harman

C-External Members:
Flectat Limited (represented by Mr Michael Watson)
Novae Corporate Underwriting Limited (represented by Mr Matthew Fosh)

Individual External Member:
Palace House International (Two) LLP (represented by Mr Alan Lovell)

Pursuant to the Byelaw the Council has set a ballot date of 5 January 2016 to elect two working members, two C-external members and one individual external member of the Council. The term of office for each of these vacancies shall be for a period of three years and shall commence on 1 February 2016.

The Byelaw limits members of Council (other than the Chief Executive Officer) to serve no more than nine years in aggregate as a member of the Council. In addition, under the Byelaw time served on the Franchise Board will count towards that nine year limit. Accordingly only Flectat Limited, represented by Michael Watson and Novae Corporate Underwriting Limited, represented by Matthew Fosh, whose terms of office are expiring are eligible to stand again for election.

The Byelaw limits the eligibility of “connected” members sitting on Council at the same time (see paragraphs 5.7, 5.10 and 5.28(i) of Schedule 1 of the Byelaw). As a consequence, additional vacancies may arise when the results of the election are known. In the event that such vacancies arise, they will be filled by the candidates with the next highest number of votes in the relevant constituency and the term of office will be for the unexpired term of office of the member resigning.

The members will be elected respectively from among the working and external members of the Society by ballot (either by post or electronically) of those members of the Society whose names are shown, respectively, in Part I and Part II of the Register referred to in Schedule 1 of Lloyd's Act 1982 on the date of this notice and who have not ceased to be members before the date of the ballot.

Nomination forms are available from the:

Council Secretariat

Floor 12, Lloyd’s, One Lime Street, London EC3M 7HA

020 7327 5276

Under the provisions of the Byelaw only those members whose names are shown on the relevant Part of the Register on the nominations date (18 November 2015) are entitled to nominate candidates.

Valid nominations for the vacancies will be accepted if received by the appointed scrutineers, Electoral Reform Services, The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW, not later than 1.00pm on 18 November 2015.

By order of the Council
Gavin Steele
Secretary to the Council & the Franchise Board
27 October 2015