Skip to main content

Council of Lloyd's - Notice Of Election

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the Constitutional Arrangements Bylaw (No. 2 of 2010) ("the Byelaw"), the terms of office of the following members of the Council expire on 31 January 2018.

Fri 27 Oct 2017

Working Members:

Simon Beale
Karen Green

C-External Members:

Hiscox Dedicated Corporate Member Limited (Represented by Robert Childs)

Pursuant to the Byelaw the Council has set a ballot date of 8 January 2018 to elect two working members and one c-external member of the Council. The term of office for each of these vacancies shall be for a period of three years and shall commence on 1 February 2018.

The Byelaw limits members of Council (other than the Chief Executive Officer) to serve no more than nine years in aggregate as a member of the Council. Time served on the Franchise Board will count towards that nine year limit. All of the above members whose terms of office are expiring are eligible to stand again for election.

The Byelaw limits the eligibility of “connected” members sitting on Council at the same time. As a consequence, additional vacancies may arise when the results of the election are known. In that event the additional vacancies will be filled by the candidates with the next highest number of votes in the relevant constituency and the term of office will be for the unexpired term of office of the member resigning.

How to stand for election

The members of Council will be elected from among the working and c-external members of the Society respectively, by ballot of those members of the Society whose names are shown on the date of this notice in Pat I or Part II of the Register as appropriate referred to in Schedule 1 of Lloyd’s Act 1982 and who have not ceased to be members before the date of the ballot. Under the Byelaw only those members whose names are shown on the relevant Part of the Register on the nominations date (15 November 2017) are entitled to nominate candidates.

If you wish to stand in for election your completed nomination form must be received by the appointed scrutineers, Electoral Reform Services, by 1.00pm on 15 November 2017.

Alternatively, forms are available from the Council Secretariat

Valid nominations forms must be received by the appointed scrutineers, Electoral Reform Services, The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW, not later than 1.00pm on 15 November 2017.

By order of the Council
Peter Spires
General Counsel & Company Secretary
27 October 2017