Skip to main content

Council of Lloyd's notice of election

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the Constitutional Arrangements Byelaw (No. 2 of 2010), the terms of office of the following members of the Council expire on 31 January 2015:

Mon 03 Nov 2014

Working Members:
Mr Simon Beale
Mr Graham White

C-External Member:
Hiscox Dedicated Corporate Member Limited
(Represented by Mr Robert Childs)

Individual External Member:
The Michael Deeny LLP
(Represented by Mr Michael Deeny)

Pursuant to the Constitutional Arrangements Byelaw (“the Byelaw”) the Council has set a ballot date of 5 January 2015 to elect two working members, one C-external member and one individual external member of the Council. All terms of office shall commence on 1 February 2015.

The Byelaw limits members of Council (other than the Chief Executive Officer) to serve no more than nine years in aggregate as a member of the Council. In addition, under the Byelaw time served on the Franchise Board will count towards that nine year limit. With the exception of Graham White, all of the above members whose terms of office are expiring are eligible to stand again for election.

The term of office for each of these vacancies shall be for a period of three years. However, due to the application of the nine year limit if Mr Deeny wishes to stand for re-election as the representative of The Michael Deeny LLP he will only be eligible to serve a final term of one year and nine months.

The Byelaw limits the eligibility of “connected” members sitting on Council at the same time (see paragraphs 5.7, 5.10 and 5.28(i) of Schedule 1 of the Byelaw). As a consequence, additional vacancies may arise when the results of the election are known. In the event that such vacancies arise, they will be filled by the candidates with the next highest number of votes in the relevant constituency and the term of office will be for the unexpired term of office of the member resigning.

The members will be elected respectively from among the working and external members of the Society by postal ballot of those members of the Society whose names are shown, respectively, in Part I and Part II of the Register referred to in Schedule 1 of Lloyd’s Act 1982 on the date of this notice and who have not ceased to be members before the date of the ballot.

Nomination forms are available from the:

Council Secretariat

Floor 12, Lloyd’s, One Lime Street, London EC3M 7HA

+44 (0)20 7327 5276

Under the provisions of the Byelaw only those members whose names are shown on the relevant Part of the Register on the nominations date (19 November 2014) are entitled to nominate candidates.

Valid nominations for the vacancies will be accepted if received by the appointed scrutineers, Electoral Reform Services, The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW, not later than 13.00 on 19 November 2014.

By order of the Council
Gavin Steele
Secretary to the Council
3 November 2014