Skip to main content

Council of Lloyd's - Notice of Election

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the Constitutional Arrangements Byelaw (No. 2 of 2010) (“the Byelaw”), the terms of office of the following members of the Council expired or expire on the dates shown below:

Tue 01 Nov 2016

Working Members: Mr Dominic Christian (31 January 2017) Mr Lawrence Holder (31 January 2017)

C-External Member: Catlin Syndicate Limited (31 January 2017) (Represented by Mr Paul Jardine)

Individual External Member: The Michael Deeny LLP (31 October 2016) (Represented by Mr Michael Deeny)

Pursuant to the Byelaw the Council has set a ballot date of 9 January 2017 to elect members of the Council to fill the above vacancies. The term of office for each of these vacancies shall be for a period of three years and shall commence on 1 February 2017.

The Byelaw limits members of Council (other than the Chief Executive Officer) to serve no more than nine years in aggregate as a member of the Council. Time served on the Franchise Board will count towards that nine year limit. Accordingly, of those whose terms of office are expiring, only Dominic Christian and Lawrence Holder are eligible to stand again for election.

The Byelaw limits the eligibility of “connected” members sitting on Council at the same time. As a consequence, additional vacancies may arise when the results of the election are known. In that event the additional vacancies will be filled by the candidates with the next highest number of votes in the relevant constituency and the term of office will be for the unexpired term of office of the member resigning.

How to stand for election

The members of Council will be elected from among the working and external members of the Society respectively, by ballot of those members of the Society whose names are shown on the date of this notice in Part I or Part II of the Register (as appropriate) referred to in Schedule 1 of Lloyd’s Act 1982 and who have not ceased to be members before the date of the ballot. Under the Byelaw only those members whose names are shown on the relevant Part of the Register on the nominations date (23 November 2016) are entitled to nominate candidates.

If you wish to stand for election your completed nomination form must be received by the appointed scrutineers, Electoral Reform Services, by 1.00pm on 23 November 2016. To submit your nomination online visit Please type the URL directly into your browser URL bar. To log in you will require the two-part Security Code below:
Security Code 1: XXXXXX
Security Code 2: XXXX

Alternatively, forms are available from the:

Valid nominations forms must be received by the appointed scrutineers not later than 1.00pm on 23 November 2016.

Electoral Reform Services,
The Election Centre,
33 Clarendon Road,
N8 0NW

By order of the Council
Peter Spires
Secretary to the Council & the Franchise Board
1 November 2016