Getting involved is easy - whether you want to volunteer, take part in a team challenge, host or donate, there are all sorts of opportunities for everyone working in the Lloyd's market and the Corporation of Lloyd's.

Reading and Number Partners: Helping students to develop their literacy or numeracy skills and acting a role model.

Workshop topic  Age group  Details  Location  Interested? 
Reading/Numeracy Primary school Weekly/Fortnightly Tower Hamlets  Register here


Abacus: A financial literacy programme for 9 - 10 years olds and their parents at schools in Tower Hamlets. 

Workshop topic  Details  Location  Interested? 
 Advertising and Marketing  Mon 26/11/18: 09:00 - 10:30  Smithy Street Primary, E1 3BW Register here
 World of Work -Jobs and Taxes  Mon 3/12/18: 09:00 - 10:30  Smithy Street Primary, E1 3BW
 Insurance and Risk  Mon 10/12/18: 09:00 - 10:30  Smithy Street Primary, E1 3BW
 Lloyd's visit  Mon 17/12/18: 11:00 - 13:30  Corporation of Lloyd's, Lime Street

 

Workshop topic Details Location Interested?
 Introduction to Money Matters Tues 29/01/19 09:10 - 10:10 Clara Grant Primary, E3 4BU Register here
 Making Money Choices Tues 05/02/19 09:10 - 10:40 Clara Grant Primary, E3 4BU
 Bank of England Museum visit Tues 12/02/19 10:00 - 12:00 Bank of England Museum, Bartholomew Lane
 Managing Money Tues 26/02/19 09:10 - 10:40 Clara Grant Primary, E3 4BU
Advertising and Marketing Tues 05/03/19 09:10 - 10:40 Clara Grant Primary, E3 4BU
World of Work -Jobs and Taxes Tues 12/03/19 09:10 - 10:40 Clara Grant Primary, E3 4BU
Insurance and Risk Tues 19/03/19 09:10 - 10:40 Clara Grant Primary, E3 4BU
Lloyd's visit Fri 22/03/19 Morning Corporation of Lloyd's, Lime Street


Aim2Attain: Volunteer for these employability workshop to help students aged 14 - 15 raise their aspirations and realise their potential. 

Workshop topic  Details  Location  Interested? 
 London Enterprise Academy  Thurs 1/11/18: 08:30 - 12:35  Aldgate East, E1 1RD Register here
 Central Foundation Girls' School  Tues 13/11/18: 09:00 - 12:30 and/or 12:55 - 15:00
Wed 14/11/18: 09:00 - 12:30 and/or 12:55 - 15:00
Thurs 15/11/18: 09:00 - 12:30 only
 Mile End, E3 2EA
 Bishop Challoner Girls' School  Thurs 6/12/18: 08:30 - 12:30 and/or 13:00 - 15:00
Fri 7/12/18: 08:30 - 12:30 only
 Shadwell, E1 0LB
 St Paul's Way Trust School  Tues 11/12/18: 08:30 - 12:45 and/or 13:20 - 15:20  Mile End, E3 4FT
 Morpeth School  Tues 15/01/19: 08:30 - 12:30 and/or 13:00 - 15:00
Wed 16/01/19: 08:30 - 12:30 and/or 13:00 - 15:00
 Bethnal Green, E2 0PX
 Sir John Cass' Foundation and
Redcoat Church of England School
 Wed 13/02/19: 09:00 - 13:15
Thurs 14/02/19: 09:00 - 13:15
 Stepney Green, E1 0RH
 Central Foundation Girls' School  Wed 20/03/19: 09:00 - 12:30 and/or 13:00 -15:00
Thurs 21/03/19: 09:00 - 12:30 and/or 13:00 -15:00
 Mile End, E3 2EA
 Mulberry School for Girls  Thurs 2/05/19: 08:30 - 12:40 and/or 13:20 - 15:30  Whitechapel, E1 2JT


 

Head2Head: Mock interviews with young people aged 15-17 years old at their school in Tower Hamlets.

School  Details  Location  Interested? 
 Morpeth School  Wed 17/11/18: 08:30 - 12:40  Bethnal Green, E2 0PX Register here
 Bishop Challoner Boys' School  Tues 6/11/18 08:30 - 15:05
Wed 7/11/18: 08:30 - 15:05
 Shadwell, E1 0LB
 Bishop Challoner Girls' School  Thurs 8/11/18: 08:30 - 15:05
Fri 9/11/18: 08:30 - 15:05
 Shadwell, E1 0LB
 Sir John Cass's Foundation and
Redcoat Church of England School
 Wed 28/11/18: 08:30 - 15:00
Thurs 29/11/18: 08:30 - 15:00
 Stepney Green, E1 0RH
 Mulbury School for Girls Fri 7/12/18: 08:30 - 15:30   Whitechapel,  E1 2JP
 St Paul's Way Trust School  Tues 22/01/19: 08:30 - 15:30
Wed 23/01/19: 08:30 - 15:30
Thurs 24/01/19: 08:30 - 15:30
Fri 25/01/19: 08:30 - 15:30
 Mile End, E4 4FT
 George Green's School  Tues 23/04/19: 08:30 - 15:10
Thurs 25/04/19: 08:30 -15:10
Fri 26/04/19: 08:30 - 15:10
 Island Gardens. E14 3DW
 Langdon Park School  Wed 12/06/19: 08:30 - 13:15  Langdon Park. E14 0RY

 


 

Insuring Human Progress: Offer insight into your areas of insurance and encourage undergraduates to enter the world of insurance by hosting an insight day into your business area, or a master class into what your departments do.

Opportunity Details  Location  Interested? 
Register your interest for 2019 At your convenience between October – November Your office Register here


Mentoring: Mentor a young person through a fully supported structured mentoring programme.

 

Opportunity  Age group  Details  Location  Interested? 
Mentoring a secondary school or sixth form student 15-17 year olds 1 hour per month, Nov - June School and your office Register here
Mentoring young people at university or who have just left formal education 18-21 year olds 5 sessions, July - Sept Your office Register here


Team challenges:  Take part in a one day volunteering activity with your department or team.

Opportunity  Beneficiaries Details  Location  Interested? 
One off team challenge Local community groups One day – Any time East London Register here
Whizz Kidz local youth club or wheelchair skills training Disabled young people One day- Any time London Register here


Other ways you or your company can get involved

  • Host a summer placement for a young person from our delivery partner, The Brokerage for 6-8 weeks.
  • Host a work placement for a disabled young person from our charity partner, Whizz Kidz.
  • Offer your office space to host an employability workshop.
  • Invite the Responsible Business team or one of our charity partners to talk about our initiatives in your company.
  • Give an hour a month and become a Community Champion and share opportunities with your team or company.
  • Support our charity partner, Build Change from your desk, with technical help with risk assessments, mapping and hazard training.


Charitable Giving 
  •  You can donate or fundraise for the Lloyd’s Charities Trust or the Lloyd’s Patriotic Fund, with full support given by the Responsible Business team.
  • Our charity partner, Whizz-Kidz, has a calendar of challenge events and can offer places in some of some of the most iconic running, cycling and trekking events locally, nationally and internationally.
  • Applications are open from July - September each year for colleagues across the Lloyd’s market to apply for a grant for your chosen charity through the Lloyd’s Market Charity Awards. Details of how to apply will be posted here when applications are open.

Get in touch at Responsiblebusiness@lloyds.com for more details.