An Act of Parliament, the Lloyd's Act 1982, defines the governance structure and rules under which Lloyd's operates. Under the Act, the Council of Lloyd's is responsible for the management and supervision of the market. Lloyd's is regulated by the Prudential Regulatory Authority and Financial Conduct Authority.

The governance and oversight framework for the Lloyd’s market is designed to ensure that both the Corporation and managing agents in the Lloyd’s market have robust and comprehensive systems of governance, risk management and internal controls. The underlying objective of this overall framework is that the Corporation and the market actively manage risks to the Central Fund, Lloyd’s licences, ratings and brand and to ensure good outcomes for policyholders.
  • The Council normally has six working, six external and six nominated members.  The working and external members are elected by Lloyd's members. The Chairman and Deputy Chairmen are elected annually by the Council from among its members.

    The Council can discharge some of its functions directly by making decisions and issuing resolutions, requirements, rules and byelaws. Other decisions are delegated to the Board and associated committees.

    Find out who makes up the Council of Lloyd's

  • The Board is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Lloyd's market. It lays down guidelines for all syndicates and operates a business planning and monitoring process to safeguard high standards of underwriting and risk management, thereby improving sustainable profitability and enhancing the financial strength of the market.

    The Board is chaired by Bruce Carnegie-Brown, Chairman of Lloyd's and has three further executive members, three non-executives connected with the Lloyd's market and five independent non-executives.

     Find out who makes up the Board

  • Principal_Committees_v1