Cathedral Underwriting Limited

Managing Agent Name: Cathedral Underwriting Ltd

Subject: Governance changes

Syndicate(s) Affected: 2010 & 3010

Since 31st March 2016 there have been some material changes to the Cathedral Underwriting Limited (managing agent of Syndicate 2010 and aligned Syndicate 3010) board and management team which have been duly publicised.

These changes are as follows: 

Original Board Constitution




Revised Board Constitution

Tony South



Ceased 30/06/2016

Replaced by Tony  Minns

Tony Minns (until 28/02/2017)

Derek Grainger


Compliance Director

Ceasing January 2017

To be replaced from January 2017 by Emma Woolley

Emma Woolley (likely from January 2017)

John Hamblin

Director and Active Underwriter

Ceased 12 April 2016

Replaced by *Richard Williams

Richard Williams

14/06/2016 (until Q1 2017)

Lawrence Holder

Managing Director

Ceased 27/07/2016

Replaced by Marion Maddon

Marion Maddon

Interim Managing Director (Awaiting PRA approval)

John Lynch

Finance Director

Ceased 31/03/2016

Replaced by Heather McKinlay

Heather McKinlay


Alex Maloney

Non-Executive Director




Tony Minns    

Independent Non-Executive Director

Remains until 28/02/2017



Robin Oakes

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ceased 31/08/2016



Elvin Patrick

Non-Executive Director

Ceased 21/04/2016



Peter Scales



Ceased 31/03/2016



John Tilling

Independent Review Non-Executive Director




Richard Williams

Director and Active Underwriter (3010)

Cease as Active Underwriter and Director Q1 2017

Replaced by J Spence

J Spence

(Awaiting Regulatory approval)

Richard Williams

Director and Active Underwriter (2010)

Cease as Active Underwriter and Director Q1 2017

To be replaced by Jon Barnes, who joins in January 2017

Jon Barnes (subject to regulatory approval)





S Fraser INED 29/02/2016





L Gibbins INED






N Davenport INED



*Richard Williams will cease as Active Underwriter for Syndicate 2010 and as a Director on the appointment of Jon Barnes in January 2017, subject to the necessary regulatory consents. Jon has over 25 years’ experience in the Lloyd’s market, most recently as deputy underwriter at Syndicate 2121. Richard Williams will remain in place pending approval to Jon’s appointments.

In addition to the departure of John Hamblin, certain members of the 2010 property treaty team have also left during the course of the year. These individuals have been replaced with individuals of similar experience and expertise.

Simon King stepped down as the D&F account underwriter in February 2016 and was replaced by his deputy, Richard Wood.

The Contingency Account Underwriter for Syndicate 2010 tendered his notice of resignation on 25th October 2016, and management are reviewing the position.

Operational support leavers include the heads of Claims, IT, Exposure Modelling and Reinsurance. The company is in the process of recruiting suitable replacements.


Date issued:  28 October 2016

Contact Information

Agency contact name: Derek Grainger

Agency contact no: + 44 (0) 20 7170 9000


For auction office use only: D2016007

DISCLAIMER: Lloyd's is not responsible for the content of any auction disclosures, and acts merely as publisher of information provided by managing agents. If you have any questions regarding the content, you should contact the relevant managing agent.



Our cookies are there to make it easier for you to use our website. They allow us to recognise our registered users, count visitor numbers and find out how they navigate the site; helping us make changes so you can find what you’re looking for faster. Find out more