Skip to main content
The Lloyd's Underwriting Room

Lloyd’s governance structure

Ensuring good outcomes for our policyholders

The Lloyd’s Act of Parliament 1982 defines the governance structure and rules under which Lloyd’s operates. 

The governance and oversight framework for the Lloyd’s market is designed to ensure that both the Corporation and managing agents in the Lloyd’s market have robust and comprehensive systems of governance, risk management and internal controls. The underlying objective of this overall framework is that the Corporation and the market actively manage risks to the Central Fund, Lloyd’s licences, ratings and brand and to ensure good outcomes for policyholders. 

Lloyd’s is regulated by the Prudential Regulatory Authority and Financial Conduct Authority.

The Council of Lloyd’s

Under the Act, the Council of Lloyd’s is responsible for the management and supervision of the market. 

The Council normally has three working, three external and nine nominated members. The working and external members are elected by Lloyd’s members. The Chairman and Deputy Chairmen are elected annually by the Council from among its members. 

The Council discharges some of its functions directly by making decisions and issuing resolutions, requirements, rules and byelaws. Other decisions are delegated to committees of the Council and the members of the Executive Committee, in accordance with their respective terms of reference. 

Executive Committee

Read more about our Executive Committee members.

Lloyd’s Enforcement Board vacancy

Following recent retirements, the Council of Lloyd’s is looking to appoint a “market-connected” member of the Lloyd’s Enforcement Board (LEB).  The Council would welcome expressions of interest from qualified individuals.


Lloyd's committees include the Council of Lloyd's, under which sit the committees of the council, comprising the audit, risk, renumeration, nominations and governance, investment, and ESG committees along with the Blueprint 2 Cutover Committee, the technology and transformation advisory panel and the underwriting advisory panel. The special and charitable committees consist of the market supervision and review committee, the capacity transfer panel, the Lloyd's enforcement board and the Lloyd's of London Foundation.


Read the bios for our Council and Executive Committee members.