The Lloyd’s Claims Scheme (Combined) was issued on 30 September 2011.

Lloyd’s also issues 2010 Claims Scheme Process Guidelines to support the operation of the 2010 Claims Scheme.  A copy of the most recently issued Guidelines may be found below.


Scope of 2010 Claims Scheme

All subscription market claims are in scope of the 2010 Claims Scheme.

Previously, the 2010 Claims Scheme applied to certain risk codes from specified effective dates, as set out in Schedule 5 to the Lloyd’s Claims Scheme (Combined). Lloyd’s had previously indicated its intention to expand the 2010 Claims Scheme over time to include all classes of business.

Schedule 5 has therefore been periodically updated to reflect the roll-out of the 2010 Claims Scheme to all claims. On 30 March 2012 Lloyd’s issued Market Bulletin Y4578 bringing an additional 44 risk codes into the scope of the 2010 Claims Scheme. On 18 October 2013 Lloyd's issued Market Bulletin Y4731 bringing "legacy" claims in marine and energy risk codes into scope. The scope of legacy was further expanded on 30 June 2014 to property, treaty reinsurance and accident and health claims as detailed in Market Bulletin Y4783 issued on 31 March 2014.

The final expansion took place on 31 December 2014 to include all claims in the remaining classes, namely aviation, professional indemnity & financial institutions (PI/FI), casualty, political risks, overseas motor and UK motor will be brought into scope on 31 December 2014. This was detailed in Market Bulletin Y4824 issued on 30 September 2014.

Therefore all subscription market claims are now subject to the 2010 Claims Scheme.

Schedule 5 is to be found at the end of the Lloyd’s Claims Scheme (Combined). For ease of reference a copy of Schedule 5 can also be separately downloaded below.


Current Documents

The most recent Market Bulletin updating Schedule 5 is Market Bulletin Y4824 which will come into force on 31 December 2014.

Current Schedule 5 to the Lloyd’s Claims Scheme (Combined) (431KB, pdf) 

Current Version of Lloyd's Claims Scheme (Combined) (530KB, pdf) 

Updated 2010 Claims Scheme Process Guidelines are available, detailing the procedures to be applied to "legacy" claims.

Revised 2010 Claims Scheme Process Guidelines (524KB, pdf)


Correct Slip Language

Correct claims agreement provisions for the Lloyd’s market on any new slip are as follows:

“Basis of Claims Agreement:

Claims to be managed in accordance with the Lloyd’s Claims Scheme (Combined), or as amended or any successor thereto.

Claims Agreement Parties:
For Lloyd’s syndicates:

The leading Lloyd’s syndicate and, where required by the Lloyd’s Claims Scheme (Combined), the second Lloyd’s syndicate.

The second Lloyd’s Syndicate is JKL (1234).”

This language follows the guidance relating to the Market Reform Contract provided by the London Market Group which also includes the recommended language for markets other than Lloyd’s.

The identity of the second Lloyd’s syndicate is required on all subscription market placements.

Existing policies, or slips for risks which are already fully placed, do not require endorsing with the correct language if they do not already employ it.  The provisions of the Claims Scheme (Combined) will override any other provisions detailed in the slip.  However, all new slips must adopt the correct language. Further information on appropriate slip language can be found in Market Bulletin Y4622.

Lloyd's monitors the accuracy of language used for claims agreement as part of its regular review processes.



Tim Lovick

Tim Lovick

Senior Project Manager, Claims

t: +44 (0)20 7327 5584
f: +44 (0)20 7327 5986

Talent Programme

Do you want the opportunity to enhance your skills and claims knowledge in the early stages of your claims career? The Claims Talent Programme could be for you.

Find out more about the Claims Talent Programme